Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Norfolk: Earlham Eagles

About the team

1st track was at the top of the Earlham Housing Site, Norwich(This is now a shopping centre).

Track was 83 yards. Track Record was 41.0 seconds(four laps).

Club Manager: F.O. Smallwood, 42 Havelock Road, Norwich(1947/48).

2nd track was when they shared the Earlham Arrows track, forming the Earlham Cycle Speedway Club.

Club Manager: V.R. Vickers, 57 Barrett Road, Lakenham, Norwich.

General Manager: Norman Guest.

Starting Marshall: Vic Poll.

Raced in the Norwich League.

Raced on Wednesday nights and Sunday afternoons.

1953 was the last season at the "Beeches".


1949. Wog Vickers probably did more than any other person to put his area firmly on the Cycle Speedway map. A regular member of the Norwich Test side, Wog was an all rounder in the sport, writing lively articles for the Cycle Speedway Monthly, as well as undertaking many other duties to enhance the sport.

1949. Team were unbeaten at home since 1947.

Tragically Alfie Ramsbottom was killed in a motor cycle accident in the early 1950s.

Individual Honours.

Malcolm Flood came runner up in National Individual Final 1951(he was killed racing at the Poole Speedway Stadium in 1956).

Team Honours.

1951 won the Norwich League.

Speedway Riders.

Malcolm Flood rode for Norwich.

Lew Grepp rode for Belle Vue.


  • Douggie Ager
  • Jack Barnes
  • Basil Cannell
  • "Clicker" Claxton(capt)
  • Chris Cross
  • .... Dack
  • Malcolm Flood
  • Maurice Flood
  • Lew Grepp
  • Norman Guest
  • Peter Harrison
  • A. Hellesdon
  • Colin Howard
  • J. Howard
  • Ken Humphries
  • Henry Long
  • Jack Mayhew(capt)
  • Alf Ramsbottom
  • F.O. Smallwood
  • Peter Smith
  • Peter Turner
  • Roger 'Wog' Vickers
  • Ron Woodcock