Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: Millwall Flyers

About the team

Club originally founded by Ernie Longhurst.

Track was in East Ferry Road, Millwall, near 'The George' public house.

Raced in the East London League Div 1 1950.

The Club Chairman was Mr Ted Davidson, who was a professional Cartoonist. In 1949 he sketched a member of the club each week for a local newspaper. He also designed the race jackets with a cartoon "Pegasus" on the front.

Club President: Cliff Watson(West Ham & Australia Speedway Star).


  • Arthur Ayres
  • Tommy Calvo
  • T. Fisher
  • Ron Hook
  • Roy Martin
  • Ken Randall
  • Arthur Redmond
  • Bill Shears
  • Alf Smith
  • Peter Smith
  • George Stevens
  • Eddie Wilson