Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Sussex East: Icklesham Vikings

About the team

First track was on the recreation ground on the opposite side of the road to the old pavilion which was at the top of the field.

Second track was on main road, on the right hand side of the Post Office Stores, opposite the recreation ground. This was on waste land which was owned by Mr Silk. The riders built the track in 1947/48.

Now the site of the police station.

Team Colours: Green and White.

Club Manager: W.H. Silk, Post Office Stores, Icklesham, North East of Hastings, Sussex.

Club Secretary: Mrs Silk, Post Office, Icklesham.

Raced in the Sedlescombe League in 1950, withdrawing from this prior to the start of the 1951 season.

League racing took place on a Tuesday night.


  • John Ballard
  • Bernard Jeffery
  • Cyril Jeffery
  • Jeff Moon
  • John O'Neill
  • G. Patten
  • Dennis Sargeant
  • I. Tribe
  • M. Wise
  • Michael Wood
  • Peter Wood