Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Surrey: Morden Meteors

About the team

Track was on a disused tennis court in Morden Park, adjacent to the London Road(new track was built at Hersham in 1949).

Club Manager: H. Warner, 131 Shaldon Drive, Morden, Surrey.

Club Secretary: D.C. Kirby, 7 Conrad Drive, Worcester Park.

Raced in the Surrey Central League(Eastern Section) that was formed 7th November 1948. Also in 1949, this later becoming the Surrey & South West London League.

Club Honours.

1949 Division One Champions of the Surrey & South West London League.

1950 Surrey & South West London League Winners.

Speedway Riders.

Bob Warner rode for California and Eastbourne.


1947 - 1950.

  • Tommy Bailey
  • Johnnie Braden
  • David Coe
  • Norman Cook
  • Sid Dunnett
  • Alan Eastman
  • Wilbur Fells
  • Ray Goodsall
  • Don Kirby
  • Ray Leonard
  • Ron Rainer
  • Ken Saunders
  • Ken Shepherd
  • David Snell
  • Norman Sugden
  • Bob Warner