Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London North: Russell Eagles

About the team

Track was in Russell Lane, Whetstone N20.

Club Secretary: A. Holding, 7 Barfield Avenue, Whetstone N20.

Racing 1950s.

Raced in the Barnet & District League.

Raced in the Hertfordshire League 1951-1954.

Club Manager: E.A. Legate, 26 Barfield Avenue, Whetstone N20.

Club Treasurer: R.J. Waltho, 2 Manor Court, York Way.

Club Secretary: K.G. Cooper, 36 Church Crescent, Whetstone N20.

Team Honours.

1951 Represented Middlesex in the National Trophy.

1951 Won the Barnett & District League.

1951 Runners up in the Herts League.

1951 Rode in the Festival of Britain Trophy at Battersea.

1952 & 1953 won the Hertfordshire League.


  • Ken Cooper
  • Pete Cooper
  • Johnny Floyd
  • Tony Hetherington
  • Johnny Hill
  • Ernie Legate(capt)
  • Teddy Newbury
  • Dave Payne
  • Johnny Pinnock
  • Roy Small
  • Fred Stimson
  • Bobby Thomas
  • Brian Waltho