Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Manchester District: Denton Pirates

About the team

Team became Denton in 1969, changing their name from Gorton Pirates when they lost their track, and moved to their new one in Tame Street, Denton, this being built by the local council.

Raced under the Denton name from 1969 to 1984, when they changed their name to Tameside CSC.

Track was on Tame Street Park, Tame Street, Denton.

Track Dimensions: 90yards x 15ft, red shale surface.

Club Colours: Blue Jackets with White Skull and Crossbones, Blue shirts.

Team was sponsored by Oldham Batteries(1978).

Raced in the Manchester League Div 1.

Raced in the Manchester Junior League.

Raced in the National League from 1982 under the Tameside name.

Club Chairman: Mr R. Broomhead.

Team Manager/Secretay: Dave "Blinner" Blinstone, 36 Bakewell Street, Gorton, Manchester.

Team Manager: Ken Taylor(1978).

Individual Honours.

1969 John Watling came 3rd in National Individual Final.

1969 John Watling won the 17th Manchester Grand Prix with 14 points, Doug Noble(Ecurie Alba) came 2nd after a run-off with Derek Garnett (Offerton), both riders scoring 12 points.

1972 John Watling came 3rd National Individual Final.

1975 Jeff Weaver came 3rd in National Individual Final.

Team Honours.

Runners-up in three British Team Finals, these being: 1973 Offerton Devils 59 - Denton Pirates 49. 1974 Wednesfield Aces 58 - Denton Pirates 49. 1977 Wednesfield Aces 97 - Denton Pirates 77.

Club Honours.

The 1975 British Senior Individual Final was held at Tame Street Playing Fields. The Referee was Mr Dave Flemming(London). The winner was Geoff Patman(Bristol) with 14 points, runner-up was John Watchman(Blackley-Manchester) on 13 points, 3rd was Jeff Weaver(Denton-Manchester) after a run-off with Gerald Banks(Wednesfield), both riders having scored 9 points. Other scorers: Kevin Greenhalgh(Blackley) 8, Colin Wheeler(Bristol) 8, Pip Serbert(Woodside) 8, Kim Waddup(Headley) 8, Mike Baugh(Wednesfield) 8, Derek Garnett(Offerton) 7, Les Stevens(Epping) 6, Dennis Torr(Blackley) 5, Derek Knight(Poole) 5, Joe Bailey(Offerton) 4, Jack Pinkerton(Edinburgh) 4, Ken Taylor(Denton) 3.


  • John Bartholomew
  • Dave Blinston
  • .... Butler
  • M. Corlett
  • .... Garside
  • Mick Kay
  • P. Kay
  • Vinnie Marsland
  • Alan Moss
  • .... Powell
  • S. Robinson
  • Gordon Taylor
  • John Watling


  • Dave Artingstall
  • Anthony Bickerdike
  • Dave Blinstone
  • Chris Broomhead
  • Tony Broomhead
  • Ian Burgess
  • Terry Carroll
  • Dave Cawley
  • Phil Dent
  • Frank Finnigan
  • Paul Heaton
  • Brian Hodgson
  • Steve Howe
  • Paul Hulme
  • Brian Johnson
  • Keith Lee
  • Gary Lever
  • Paul Martin
  • Steve Mills
  • Paul Ogden
  • Mark Rhodes
  • Alan Taylor
  • Gordon Taylor
  • Graham Taylor
  • Ken Taylor
  • Roy Taylor
  • Gordon Thomas
  • John Watchman(1973)
  • John Watling
  • Jeff Weaver
  • Steve Whitehead
  • John Whiting
  • Ian Wilson