Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Manchester District: Manchester CSC

About the team

Team were sponsored by Alex C. Jackson.

Team Manager was Derek Garnett.

Raced in the National League.

Individual Honours.

1982 John Watchman(18) won British Individual Championship at Newfoundland Drive, Poole(3rd time), runner up John Goodyear(16) Somersham, 3rd Les Bowden(16) Manchester.

1982 John Watchman won the National League Individual Championship.

1982 John Watchman won the Manchester League Individual Championship.

1983 Les Bowden(16) won British Individual Championship at Ashmore Park, Wednesfield, runner up Alan Miller(16) Bristol, 3rd John Watchman(15) Manchester after run off with Chris Strutt(Basildon) and Tony Birch(South London).

1987 Derek Garnett(23) won the British Veterans Championship at Eaton Park, Norwich, runner-up John Murphy(21) Hull, 3rd Colin Wheeler(19) Southampton, after run off with Mike Parkins(Norwich).



  • Les Bowden
  • John Burston
  • Steve Davidson
  • Damien Foster(1984)
  • Derek Garnett
  • Graham Garnett(1988)
  • Josh Gleave
  • Paul Graham
  • Kevin Greenhalgh
  • Mike Hack
  • John Higham
  • Gary Hollingsworth
  • Stewart Jackson
  • Steve Jones
  • Dave Kilroy
  • Frank Morris
  • Lee Phillips
  • Darren Salthouse
  • D. Sellers
  • P. Sellers
  • G. Spence
  • Mark Timbrell
  • John Watchman
  • John Whiting