Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Manchester District: Openshaw Monarchs

About the team

Track was in Crabtree Lane, off Ashton New Road, Clayton, Manchester.

This was positioned in a field behind the Carlton Picture House.

Track surface was earth, Length 86yds, Grade 3.

Club Secretary: E. Bostock, 20 Blackburn Street, Higher Openshaw, Manchester 11(1965).

Club Secretary: J. Wilson, 26 Maida Street, Longsight, Manchester 12(1960s).

Club Manager: Mr Jack Wilson.

Raced in the Manchester League Div 1.

Raced in the Manchester, Stockport & District League 1956.

The Junior Riders raced in the Manchester Winter 'Satellite' League(North) in 1962/63 & 1963/64.

Raced in the Manchester, Stockport & District Junior League(1965).

Individual Honours.

1958 Bill McGuiness came 3rd in National Individual Final.

1958 Bill McGuiness won the Lancashire Individual Champs.

1963 Joe Bailey won the Midland Youth Championship at Perry Hall, Birminghamwith a 15 point maximum. Runner up was John Watling(Gorton) on 14 points, 3rd was Ken Adams(Coventry) after a three man run-off.

1963 Joe Bailey won the Lancashire Individual Champs.

1963/64 J. Smith won the Winter Satellite Individual at Offerton, runner-up P. Smith(King St Tigers), 3rd D. Benyon(Hopwood Tigers).

1967 John Watchman came runner up in National Individual Final.

1967 Don Williams Won the National Junior Individual Championship.

1968 Don Williams retained the National Junior Individual with a 15 point max, runner up was Steve Berry(Blackley) on 13 points after a run-off with Ray Blackburn(Newham, London).

1969 John Watchman came runner up in National Individual Final.

1969 John Watchman won the Manchester, Stockport & Districts 21st Anniversary Event, after a run-off with John Watling(Denton), both riders scoring 13 points, with Dave Parsons(Brandon) in third place after a run-off with Derek Garnett and Vic Hinchliffe(both Offerton), all three riders scoring 11 points.

Team Honours.

1963/64 won the Manchester Winter Satellite League(North), rode 24 - won 23 - lost 1. Runners-up were Belle Vue Gladiators, 3rd Hopwood Tigers.


1950s & 60s.

  • D. Airey
  • John Aspray
  • Joe Bailey
  • D. Barlow
  • Dave "Blinner" Blinstone
  • E. Bostock
  • "Nozzer" Briggs
  • Stu Broadfield
  • .... Brown
  • .... Bunch
  • Ray Burrows
  • T. Butler
  • F. Davies
  • Jim Denny
  • J. Dobson
  • A. Dugdale
  • Norman "Noz" Edwards
  • J. Findlow
  • Josh Gleave
  • A. Hamer
  • D. Hay
  • L. Hay
  • P. Haywood
  • J. Heap
  • Chris Hill
  • J. Hodgson
  • Brian Johnson
  • K. Kenyon
  • W. Kenyon
  • Tommy Lawton
  • T. Lee
  • A. Lowe
  • W 'Bill' McGuiness
  • .... Murphy
  • N. Nairn
  • P. Pass
  • C. Paton
  • K. Percival
  • .... Reilly
  • .... Robinson
  • Eddie Skelton
  • J. Smith
  • J. Sullivan
  • Dennis Torre
  • J. Wales
  • .... Wansborough
  • John Watchman
  • Don Williams
  • Paul Williams
  • Pete Williams
  • D. Williamson
  • Dave Wilson
  • J. Worswick