Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Leicestershire : Coalville Stars

About the team

Track was on the site of the Fox & Goose public house.

Team Manager: Percy Sutton.

Became defunct in 1958.

Riders joined Leicester Allstars.

Individual Honours.

Johnny "Pete" Simpson won Leicester Junior Championship 1957.

Also rode in first National Junior Individual(under 18) at Wormwood Scrubs in 1957, scoring 11 points and coming equal 4th.


  • Stan Atkins
  • Dennis Farmer
  • Bill Henderson
  • Joe Hinds
  • Jep Newberry
  • Geoff Pickering
  • Cliff Rawlings
  • Pete Rawson
  • Jeff Sault
  • Dick Scholes
  • Johnny "Pete" Simpson