Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Leicestershire : Mowmacre Magpies

About the team

Track was in Parker Drive near the Leicester Speedway Stadium in Blackbird Road.

Club Secretary: T. Hartopp, 60 Buller Road, Leicester(1960s).

Raced in the Leicester Independent League 1961.

Individual Honours.

1961 Mick Harvey won the Leicestershire Senior Individual with a 15 point max, runner up Barrie Peel(Anstey Eagles).

1962 Steve Scotney won the Leicestershire Individual Championship with 14 points, runner up was Paul Smith(Parker Pirates) with 13 points, and third was Lewis Silver with 12 points.

1962 Joe Matts won the County Junior Individual.

Team Honours.

1960 won the K.O. Cup, beating Stadium Spitfires 38-34.

1961 won the K.O. Cup, beating Anstey Eagles in the Final.

1962 won the League and the K.O. Cup.


  • B. Berry
  • Wilson Burns
  • Harry Glover
  • I. Hamilton
  • Mick Harvey
  • Dai Haywood
  • Carl Lowe
  • Joe Matts
  • Steve Scotney
  • Lewis "Lou" Silver
  • Paul Smith
  • D. Starkie
  • J. Watts