Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Middlesex: Greenford Aces

About the team.

Track in Ruislip Road, Greenford.

Club Secretary: D. Keates, 30 Cuckoo Avenue, Hanwell W7.

Club Secretary: W. Gadsby, 25 Mayfield Gardens, Hanwell, London W7(1962).

Club Secretary: R. Lewis, 286 Greenford Road, Greenford, Middlesex(1964).

Raced in the First Round of the "World" Cup in 1949, beating Beckton Crusaders(London East) 50 - 46 in the 1st leg. Top scorer M. Costin 13.

Raced in the Thames Valley League 1950/52.

Raced in the North West Middlesex League 1960s

Raced in the Middlsex Independent League 1961.

Raced in the Middlesex League 1963.

Individual Honours.

1949 Eric Hockaday won the Thames Valley Trophy.

Speedway Riders.

Eric Hockaday rode for Aldershot - California - Rayleigh - Exeter - Stoke - Cradley Heath and Sheffield.


  • G. Bell
  • Lyn Benham
  • Bill Chapman(1948-51)
  • M. Costin(1949)
  • Harold Gumm(1948)
  • .... Herring
  • Eric Hockaday
  • .... Madden
  • J. Marskell
  • G. Massey
  • Jim Nairn
  • B. Peace
  • D. Pearcey
  • Billy Whyte