Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Midlands West: Netherton Cubs

About the team

Changed name in 1964 from the Cradley Heath Cubs, moving to new track in Yew Tree Road, Netherton.

Track was in Netherton Park, Netherton, Dudley.

Club Secretary: Dave Phillips(1964).

Team Manager: Jack Mason(1964).

Team disbanded in 1965, with many of the riders going to Quarry Bank, and being renamed as the Cradley Heath Heathens.

Individual Honours.

1964 Dave Underhill(15 max) won the Midland Youth Championship at Perry Hall track, runner-up was Nigel Harland(13) from Blackhorse Champs, 3rd was Arthur Price(12) of Wolverhampton Wolves.


  • John Andrews
  • .... Basterfield
  • John Humphries
  • Steve Mason
  • Ray Moore
  • Geoff Reeve
  • Dave Underhill
  • Bob Woodall