Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Scotland - Lothian: Edinburgh Falcons

About the team

Original track was at Pilgrim Park, Leith.

Club Chairman: Tommy Lee.

Club Secretary: R.S. Gargrave(Ross), 10-3 Caerketton Court, Firrhill Drive, Edinburgh 13(1960s).

Following track was at Redbraes Park, Edinburgh. This track was opened on a warm Spring Bank Holiday Monday in 1978 before a crowd of several hundred spectators. The official opening ceremony was performed by Councillor Mrs Metcalf who completed a lap on her own bycycle. The opening was followed by a match between Edinburgh and a National League Select Team

Raced in the Edinburgh Autumn League 1961.

Racing in the Edinburgh League 1963.

Team Honours.

Won the Edinburgh & Lothian Div 2 West League in 1964, runners up Sighthill Tigers, 3rd Corstorphone Cheetahs.

2000 Team Manager: Alan Hewitson.


  • D. Allan
  • Keith Bass
  • Dave Baxter
  • J. Campbell
  • Bert Haldane
  • .... Hall
  • D. Lato
  • Aly Gibson
  • Danny McGrath
  • Ian McKinlay
  • .... Milne
  • Ray Murphy
  • .... Pope
  • Sammy Samuel
  • Calum Slight
  • Willie Watson
  • Alan Watts

2000 +

  • Tony Birch
  • Alan Brown
  • Dave Frith
  • Ian Lawrence
  • Lee Lawrence
  • John Murphy