Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Oxfordshire: Great Milton Rockets

About the team

Raced in the South Oxfordshire League in the early 1950s.

Team was reformed by Les Preston in 1960.

Raced in the Oxford League 1961/2.

Raced in the Southern League 1963/64.

Club Manager: Les Preston.

Club Secretary: Miss E. Smith, Orpswood Farm, Great Milton, Oxon.

Club Secretary: A. D'Anger, Chilworth Farm Cottages, Milton Common, Oxon(1960s). 

Team Manager: Tony D'Anger(1961).

Club Secretary: Miss P. Hayward, 24 Hurst Street, Iffley, Oxford(1964).

Interesting Facts.

Brian Medcalf was seriously injured in a road crash in 1961, suffering a fractured skull, resulting in him missing most of the 1961 season.


  • M. Adams
  • C. Booker
  • Ken Bratton
  • R. Brooks
  • Bob Chadbone
  • Mick Constable
  • Dick Creigh
  • Tony D'Anger
  • B. Duncan
  • Chris Glenn
  • Dave Glenn
  • Trevor Kimber
  • Alan Lawrence
  • Martin Lewis
  • Don Light
  • Brian Medcalfe
  • Ted Newitt
  • Ken Oakley
  • Brian Payne(capt)
  • Ken Pitson
  • Les Preston
  • D. Prior
  • G. Prior
  • Barry Shapley
  • Jock Sutherland
  • G. Watts
  • D. Wise