Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Yorkshire South: Parkwood Aces

About the team

Track was in Parkwood Springs Recreation Ground, Douglas Road, Sheffield 3.

Formerly known as Parkwood Panthers & Parkwood Wasps.

Club Colours: Red-Black hoops on shirts.

Club Colours from 1970 til 1974 were blue & yellow.

Raced in the Sheffield League 1973.

Team merged with Stradbroke Arrows in 1975 to form the South Yorkshire CSC.

Raced in the National League using all available Sheffield Riders.

Also raced in the Northern Premier League Div 2, plus the Yorkshire League, as well as in the Div 1 & 2 of the Manchester League.

Track is now built on, being under the Ski Centre.

Club Honours.

1982 won the Manchester Intermediate League.

Interesting Facts:

Dean Ryan was both Deaf & Dumb, but once got excluded by Tony Mann for swearing!!!

Ivan Haywood tragically died.



  • Steve Bennett
  • Adrian Brownell
  • Les Frost
  • Glen Galloway
  • Martin Gamble
  • Brian Green
  • Ivan Haywood
  • Keith Haywood
  • J. Higginbottom
  • Chris Hoggart
  • Daryl Holland
  • Stuart Hollis
  • Paul Holmes
  • Kevin Howe
  • A. Jones
  • Paul Kenny
  • Keith Knapton
  • John "Florrie" Lindley
  • Rob Mawood
  • Rob Oxley
  • Phil Parkin
  • Steve Parkington
  • Dave Robinson
  • Dean Ryan
  • Chris Simmerson
  • Pete Smith
  • Glyn Stringer
  • Steve Stringer
  • Dave Turner
  • .... Wadsworth
  • Lindsay Ward
  • Chris Woodhall