Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Yorkshire West: Ivy House CSC

About the team

Track was at Ivy House, Halifax.

Team based in Halifax.

Raced in the West Riding League 1973.

Individual Honours.

1971 Mike Cockroft came runner up in National Individual.

Team Honours.

1972 won the West Riding League on 22 points, having a better points advantage than Bowling Aces, who also finished on 22 points. In third place was Shann Sabres on 20 points.

Club Honours.

The 1972 British Senior Individual Final was held at Ivy House, Halifax. The Referee was Mr Mick Little(Surrey). The winner was Derek Garnett(Offerton) with a 15 point maximum, runner-up was Kevin Greenhalgh(Blackley) after a run-off with John Watling(Denton), both riders having scored 13 points. Other scorers: John White(Offerton) 12, Jack Pinkerton(Kingsway) 9, George Russell(Offerton) 9, Les Grimes(Whitley) 7, Fred Rothwell(Woodside) 7, Ken Taylor(Ivy House) 7, Eddie Fordham(Stradbroke) 6, Geoff Widdup(Ivy House) 6, Mick Keyworth(Offerton) 4, John Murphy(Kingsway) 4, Dave Carter(Ivy House) 3, Chic Mackie(Kingsway) 3, Glynn Brimson(Tolworth) 2.

The 1972 British Under 18 Individual Final was held at Ivy House. The Referee was Mr Bert Mansbridge(Berkshire). The winner was Jim Brett(Carrs Wood) with 13 points, runner-up was Ian Fearnley(Ivy House) after a run-off with Steve Clarke(Oldbury) 3rd, and Steve Whitehead(Blackley) 4th, all three riders having scored 12 points. Other scorers: Pete Averns(Whitley) 11, Rob Carlton(Sheffield) 10, Tony Smith(Sheffield) 9, Brian Eaton(Gorton) 6, Neil Grant(Hampden) 6, Phil White(Sheffield) 6, Paul Heaton(Denton) 5, Dave Young(Carrs Wood) 5, Martin Gamble(Parkwood-Sheffield) 4, John Gallagher(Sheffield) 4, Nigel Green(Earlsdon) 2, Glen Galloway(Parkwood) 2.


  • Dave Carter
  • Mike Cockroft
  • M. Dangerfield
  • M. Duffy
  • Ian Fearnley
  • Eddie Fordham
  • P. Greenwood
  • Dick Hopkinson
  • C. Hughes
  • E. Marsh
  • L. Smith
  • Ken Taylor
  • Geoff Widdup