Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Devon: Colebrook Tigers

About the team

Team formed in 1948.

Track was at Traders Field off Newnham Road.

Club Secretary/Treasurer: Tom James, Electra House, Lucas Lane, Plympton, Devon.

Team Manager: Sid Pooley.

Committee Members: James Drake - Bill Rowlands.

Starting gates were made out of Scaffold Poles built by Frank Harris, the local blacksmith.

Bert Francis, the local coal merchant, transported the riders and their bikes to away matches in his coal lorry.

Raced in the Plymouth & District League(1950).

Individual Honours.

Barry Daw was Devon County Champion in 1952.


  • Bill Blackler
  • Cyril Chapman
  • John Coaker
  • Barry Daw
  • Dave Daw
  • Dickie Daw
  • Roy Drake
  • Jeff Ellacott
  • Jack Husk
  • Dennis Jones
  • Bill Neves
  • Ronald Nichols
  • Dave Pearn
  • Roger Pooley
  • Basil Street