Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Devon: Honicknowle Hornets

About the team

Team based in Plymouth.

Team Manager: Eric Abbott.

Raced in the Plymouth & District League 1963.

In 1966 the Hornets became the Plymouth Devils.

1966 joined the Devon League.

Club Secretary: P.R. Cooke, 18 Beacon Park Road, Swilly, Plymouth, Devon(1964).

Individual Honours.

1961 Pete Cooke won the Plymouth Champion of Champions Individual.

1963 Gordon Fulford won the Plymouth Individual Championship, in 3rd place was Dave Baskwill.


  • Eric Abbott
  • .... Badcock
  • Pete Cooke
  • Vic Foster
  • Gordon Fulford
  • .... Harper
  • David Livermore
  • Peter Neale