Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Devon: Manadon Lightnings

About the team

Team based in Plymouth.

Individual Honours.

1949 Alan Dabinette won the Plymouth Individual Championship with a faultless Maximum in front of 5,000 spectators.

1949 Alan Dabinette held every track record in the League.

1949 Alan Dabinette & Archie Green won the Best Pairs Tournament at the Flying Devils track, Ray Hood & Bob Lawrence(Devils) were 2nd, and Larry & Dave Tucker(Foulston Eagles) were 3rd.

Speedway Riders.

Alan Dabinette


  • A. Brickell
  • Alan Dabinette(capt)
  • M. Clemo
  • T. Curtis
  • T. Eddy
  • G. Friend
  • Archie Green
  • P. Kenny
  • R. Northey