Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Avon: Southmead Avon Cosmetics Supplies

About the team

A new track was built by the Council on the Doncaster Road playing fields. This was a red shale track built at the end of 1981.

During this period dropped the 'Bulldog' nickname, riding as the 'Avon Cosmetic Supplies' instead'

Team Manager: Mike Hollway(1978+).

Club Manager: E. Arnott, 79 Coleford Road, Southmead, Bristol.

Raced in the Bristol League, Div 2.

Raced in the South West League.

Raced in the Bristol League North 1982.

Raced in the Avon & District League Div 1 in 1986.

Finished racing in 1990 with the collapse of the Bristol League.

Team Honours.

1979 won the Bristol League Division 2.

Speedway Riders.

Lee Loomes rode for the Middlesborough Bears.



  • Rob Absalom
  • Steven Attwill
  • Derek Ford
  • Mike Ford
  • Andy Grant
  • Tim Haynes
  • Chris Headley
  • Kevin Hill
  • Kieron Hogan
  • Chris Holloway
  • J. Holloway
  • Paul Holloway
  • Dean Hurst
  • Lee Loomes
  • Dave Murphy
  • Shaun Needs
  • Lee Williams
  • Simon Williams