Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Essex: Gladiators

About the team

Formerly known as Grange Gladiators.

Track was in Bedfords Park, Collier Row, Romford.

Shared track with the Crusaders.

Club Manager/Secretary: Ron Bull, 13 Manor Road,Romford, Essex.

Individual Honours.

1957 Sandy McGillivray(15) won 'The Gladiators Perpetual Cup' with Ron Gibbons(14) of Longbridge Leopards runner-up, with Ted Walker(10) of Longbridge 3rd.

1958 Sandy McGillivray(12) won the British Individual Championship at War Memorial Ground, Hungerford, runner up Derek Lockwood(12) Claydon, 3rd Bill McGuiness(12) Openshaw.

1958 Sandy McGillivray won the Essex Senior Individual Championship.

1958 Sandy McGillivray(14) won 'The Gladiators Perpetual Cup' with Malcolm Bell(14) from Walthamstow runner up after run-off, and Vic Duffy(13) from East Ham 3rd.

1958 Sandy McGillivray won the Dave Stevens Trophy.

Team Honours.

1955 South Essex League Division Two Champions.

Speedway Riders.

Sandy McGillivray rode for Raleigh.

Colin Pratt

Stan Stevens

Terry Stone


  • .... Anthony
  • .... Ayres
  • .... Barker
  • Brian Bull
  • Ron Bull
  • Les Grant
  • Dave Green
  • .... Knight
  • Derek Littlejohn
  • Sandy McGillivray
  • Roy Milano
  • Alan Perham
  • Colin Pratt
  • Demi Pratt
  • Alan Robinson
  • Dave Robinson
  • Vic Robinson
  • .... Stepney
  • Alan Stevens
  • Stan Stevens
  • Terry "Bonkers" Stone
  • Norman Sutton
  • .... Taylor
  • Tony Waterman
  • Johnny Wells
  • Alan Wood