Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Humberside: Kingston Cyclones

About the team

Track was in the corner of Stonebridge Park, Preston Road, East Hull. Track bordered on the edge of the Cemetary.

This was the largest and possibly fastest track in Hull, with a shale surface, and a flat base.

Raced in the Humberside League 1971-1976.

Club Manager: Alf Ashton.

Individual Honours.

1972 John Lamb won the Open Individual(Society of Mice Trophy), runner-up Phil Grundy, 3rd Paul Kirkwood(Anlaby Aces).

1972 John Lamb and Graham Fotherby won the League Best Pairs.

1974 John Lamb won the Club News Open Individual, runner-up John Scott(Hull Rebels), 3rd Mike Hall(Hull Saints).

1974 John Lamb won the Open Individual(Society of Mice Trophy), runner-up Alan Taylor & 3rd Trevor Ehlert(Both Endike Stars).

Speedway Riders.

Chris Prime rode for Newcastle, but was tragically killed in a second half race at Brough Park, Newcastle...


  • Barry Ashton(1973)
  • N. Blakeston(1975)
  • Terry Dervey(1976)
  • G. Fotherby(1971)
  • Des Graham(1976)
  • Trevor Ehlert(1973)
  • M. Frank(1972)
  • Mark Greaves(1971/2/3)
  • Phil Grundy(1971)
  • Alan Hall(1972/3/4/5)
  • Keith Hall(1972)
  • Sean Hasnip(1976)
  • A. Holden(1976)
  • John Lamb(1971/2/3)
  • Jim Little(1971)
  • Keith Lunn(1971/2/3/4/5)
  • T. Pennington(1975)
  • Chris Prime(1973/4/5/6)
  • John Proctor(1976)
  • N. Proctor(1976)
  • K. Redfern(1973)
  • Glen Rawston(1976)
  • Duncan Sayers(1975)
  • Mark Sayers(1975/6)
  • P. Walker(1972/3)
  • Barry Watson(1975/6)