Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Devon: Newton Abbott Braves

About the team

Track built in Forde Road, Newton Abbott in 1951. It opened in 1952 with a surface of cinder.

The track had a safety fence, electric starting gate, and a public address system.

Club President: Mr Norman Roberts(Chairman of Newton Abbot Urban Council).

Team Manager: Leo Hearn.

Team colours were Red and Green Breastplates, with a crossed tomahawk insignia, with the name Newton Abbot Braves.

The clubs signature tune was 'Marching Strings'.

Team raced in the Teign & District League.  In August 1952 a league meeting donated £43 to the Lynmouth disaster fund(which is nearly £2,000 in todays money).

Team travelled to away meetings in the back of a lorry.


  • Malcolm Bidder
  • Norman Bunclark
  • John 'Buster' Burnett
  • Derek Doble
  • G. Eales
  • G. Endacott
  • Bill Furze
  • D. Furze
  • Billy Gilpin
  • Ken Heyward
  • Brian Lancaster
  • Tony Mitchell
  • M. Moon
  • Jim Pike
  • Bronco Prowse
  • D. Rice
  • Owen Saunders
  • John Shapland
  • John Shepherd
  • Stu Taylor(capt)
  • Tony Vinnecombe
  • M. Wreford
  • S. Wreford