Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London North: Edmonton Monarchs

About the team

Track was in Motagu Road, Lower Edmonton(opened 1955).

The track is now the site of a conventional Childrens Play Area(2013).

Raced as the Monarchs from 1957 - 1959.

Raced in the North London Independent League 1957/59.

Also Southern Premier League 1959.

Club President: Henk de Ronde(1959)

Club Manager: Roy Delaney

Club was managed by Vic Cowell(1957 - 1959) approx.

Club Secretary: Derek Wills, 4 Falstones, Lee Chapel North, Basildon, Essex.

In 1960 became known as Edmonton CSC.

Individual Honours.

1958 Mick Jeffery won the BCSF English League riders championship(Britannia Shield) after a run-off with Roy Baker (S/London), 3rd was Len Adams(Tottenham).

1959 Les Westwood won the North London Championship, runner-up was Nobby Dunn(Tottenham), 3rd Charlie Reade.

1959 Les Westwood(15) won the Southern Premier League Championship, runner-up Dave Chivers(14) from Raynes Park.

1959 Les Westwood(14) won the Sussex Supporters Cup at Hellingly after a run-off with Mick Jeffery, Derek Wills was 3rd.


Pete Saunders rode for Peterborough-Reading-Crewe & Oxford.


  • Tony Baldry
  • Terry Baldwin
  • T. Birchall
  • Mike Boddy
  • Fred Bouttell
  • Paul Bowden
  • Pete Brazier
  • Henk De Bruin
  • Lawrence Burnett
  • Pete Chapman
  • Vic Cowell
  • D. Cox
  • K. Decker
  • M. Dilly
  • T. Elliott
  • Alan Emmett
  • R. England
  • Micky Hall
  • J. Healey
  • T. Hyde
  • Bob Isaacs
  • Paul Jackson
  • Mick Jeffery
  • Dave Keay
  • Jeff Lewis
  • Steve McCardle
  • Tony Mobbs
  • .... Newall
  • Terry Porter
  • Charlie Reade
  • Malcolm Reading
  • Brian Robbens
  • S. Robbins
  • Pete Saunders
  • R. Sherlock
  • Paul Smith
  • Tom Sweetman
  • Derek Wallbanks
  • Terry Walters
  • Les Westwood
  • Fred Williamson
  • Derek Wills
  • Peter Wolfe
  • Graham Wood