Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Essex: Stapleford Stars(1970s)

About the team

Team was formed in 1971.

Track was Murthering Lane, Stapleford Abbotts.

Team reformed when four riders split from the Epping Aces, namely Barry & Richard Kemp, James Flack & Andy Ratcliff.

Dingle Brown performed the grand opening by cutting the tape, followed by three laps of the track. A meeting then took place between the 'Oldies' of the 1950s and the 'Youth' of the 1970s, a very close encounter won by the Youth 55 - 53.

Club President: Mr Dingle Brown(Rayleigh Speedway).

Team Manager: Mr Francis Kemp.

Club Treasurer: Mrs Mildred Kemp.

Raced in the Southern Counties League.


  • R. Andrews
  • K. Craggs
  • J. Day
  • Nigel Doubleday
  • James Flack
  • Stephen Fuller
  • R. Griffiths
  • Ian Henderson
  • Barry Kemp
  • Francis Kemp
  • Richard Kemp
  • David Patient
  • Andy Ratcliff
  • Steve Saville
  • John Smith
  • Steve Street
  • Tony White