Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Norfolk: Hellesdon Lions

About the team

Track at Mill Lane, Lower Hellesdon, Norwich.

(Hellesdon Community Centre).

Club Secretary: R.D. Smith, 18 Madpit Lane, Norwich(1962).

Club Secretary: Cliff Ellis, 144 Gipsy Lane, Norwich NOR 95G(1964).

Club Manager: B. Watling, 37 Winchcombe Road, Norwich.

Team Manager: Cliff Ellis(1966).

Racing 1951+

Raced in the Norwich League 1963(finished 3rd).

Club Colours: White with a Red Lion on racejacket.

Individual Honours.

1958 Barry Harris(14) won the Norfolk Junior Riders Championship.

1962 & 1963 Clive Hurrell & Barry Woodcock won the Uxbridge Best Pairs.

1963 Clive Hurrell won the Ken McKinlay Shield, runner-up Barry Woodcock(Galley Pirates), 3rd Vic Goodson(Galley Pirates).

1963 Clive Hurrell won the Reg Willgress Memorial Trophy at Spixworth, runner-up David Watson(Scottow Horseshoes), 3rd Denny Broughton (Itteringham Rockets).

1963 Clive Hurrell won the Culling Cup, runner-up John Attoe(Galley Pirates), 3rd Eddie Paternoster(Hellesdon Lions).

1964 Clive Hurrell(11) won the Horspath Open Championship After a run-off with Barry Dawes(Horspath Hammers), 3rd was Derek Garnett(10) of Offerton Devils after a run-off with Kevin Rowland.

1964 Clive Hurrell won the Reg Willgress Memorial Cup at Spixworth.

1965 Clive Hurrell came 3rd in National Individual Final.

1965 Clive Hurrell & Rod Witham won the Anglian Best Pairs, runners up were Mike Parkins & John Dicks(Norwich), 3rd place went to Pat Callow & Paul Baxter(Marsham).

1966 Dave Baxter(14) won the John Sparkes Memorial Trophy at Hethersett. Runner up was Mervyn Spink(Scorpions) after a run-off with Ray Hunt(Eaton Tudors), both riders having scored 12 points. 

196? Rod Witham won the Norwich & District Junior Individual.


  • Mick Banham
  • Roy Bargewell
  • Dave Baxter(capt)
  • Mick Buxton
  • John Dye
  • Cliff Ellis
  • Chris Elwin
  • Tony Forster
  • Tom Granville
  • Barry Harris
  • .... Horne
  • Chris Humphries
  • Derek Hunt(capt)
  • Clive Hurrell
  • Mick Hurrell
  • Trevor Jermy
  • Mick Mallett
  • Russell Osborne
  • Mike Parkins
  • Eddie Paternoster
  • Roger Rix
  • Stephen Rix
  • Mick Rose
  • Robert Smith
  • Jug Thomas
  • Mel Thomas
  • Tony Waller
  • John Watts
  • Rod Witham