Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Suffolk: Ipswich Vampires

About the team

Team formed in 1948, racing on the old Ipswich Pirates Track at the Ipswich Airport.

Track was by the old Ipswich Airport(near where the Gainsborough Sports Centre now stands).

All the riders were members of the Priory Heath Youth Club, where they did a lot of their training.

In 1954 had to vacate this track, and moved to Hayman Road.

Raced in the Deben Area League.

Bill Bryden was the 1st Team Manager of the Vampires. He was an SAC serving in the Air Force at Ipswich airport, and presented the Bryden Trophy in 1952 for the Winner of the Suffolk Senior individual, this trophy still in existence to the present date.

2nd Team Manager: Fred Friend.

Team Manager(1953): Mr Booth.

Team ceased at the end of 1955 due to many riders being called up for National Service, those left joined the Woodbridge Wildcats..

Individual Honours.

1954 Terry Abbott won the Suffolk Individual Championship(Bryden Trophy). Also rode in the National Finals at Hayes(Middlesex), coming 9th.

1955 Ron Bagley won the National Individual(Suffolk Area - Bryden Trophy), runner-up Tony Soames(Melton), 3rd Gordon Rodwell(Trimley).

1955 Ron Bagley(12) won the National Individual at Reading Road, Fleet, Hants, runner up Brian Moston(12) Carrs Wood, =3rd Derek Garnett(11) Offerton, Terry Greenaway(11) Walthamstow(no run-off).

1955 Terry Abbott won the Suffolk Individual(Bryden Trophy).

Team Honours.

1952 lost the Suffolk County Team finals to Ipswich Pirates in a last heat decider.

1953 came runners-up in the County League.

1954 Suffolk League Winners, runners-up Claydon Greyhounds.

1954 Suffolk County Team Championship runners-up to Claydon Greyhounds, drawing the first match at Felixstowe, but losing the re-run at Kesgrave.

1955 Winners of the National Team Championships(Suffolk Area).

1955 Suffolk North Trophy winners, runners-up Melton Meteors. Claydon Greyhounds lost under protest.

1955 Won the Deben Area League, runners-up Melton Meteors.

1955 Won the Battle of Britain Trophy, runners-up Claydon Greyhounds.

1955 Won the Crane Cup


The Vampires gave a live display of racing at the nearby Needham Market Carnival week in 1949.

In 1952 the Vampires raced all year round, beating East Bergholt in the month of January.

Speedway Riders.

Ron Bagley rode for Yarmouth - Sheffield and Ipswich.


  • Terry Abbott
  • Leslie Andrews
  • Ron Bagley
  • .... Borrett
  • John Benfield
  • P. Benfield
  • Des Blowers
  • Roy Booth
  • .... Borrett
  • Jo Chamberlain
  • M. Constable
  • Don Corcoran
  • Roger Elliott
  • Fred Friend
  • John "Golly" Gorham
  • Brian Hurren
  • Kay Hurren
  • .... Mott
  • Len Ottoway
  • Maurice Page
  • Derek Prescott
  • .... Proctor
  • Barry Shapley(1952)
  • J. Smith
  • Les Suckling
  • Keith 'Winkle' Westley