Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London North: Edmonton Saints

1st track was constructed by a group of keen youngsters in 1947, and was sited on the Aldsmead Playing Fields, Edmonton. The following year the local council ploughed the track up for additional football space.

In 1949 the club took over the disused track in Southbury Road, Enfield.

In 1950 they built a new track on waste land in Montagu Road, Edmonton, but three years later the council claimed the land for playing fields.

In 1954 the club took over the Ordnance Road track, Enfield, following the disbanding of Lea Valley Knights.

Throughout the previous four years club Chairman Bill Treacher and Club Manager Roy Delaney worked unceasingly in attending council meetings, letter writing and making house to house petitions. Their efforts were honoured the following year(1955). 

The smart new track was built by the council almost on the Saints previous site in Montagu Road at a cost of £250. Despite very blustery conditions, Alderman Tom H. Joyce declared the track open on Sunday 8th May 1955.

Mr Austen Albu MP was also in attendance, and was introduced to all the riders prior to the start of the match between the Edmonton Saints and Langley Lions.

Raced in the North London League & the Walthamstow League in 1949.

Raced in the Edmonton & District League 1949/50.

Raced in the Hertfordshire League 1951/52/53/54/55/56..

Raced in the North London Independent League 1957/58.

Club Chairman: Bill Treacher.

Club Manager/Secretary: Roy Delaney.

Ivan Mauger rode just one match as a "ring in".

Individual Honours.

1955 Vic Cowell won the North London Riders Individual Championship, scoring a 15 point maximum. Nobby Dunn(Tottenham) was runner-up with 12 points, Johnny Berwick(Tottenham) came third on 11 points, after a run-off with Derek Wills(also Tottenham).

1955 William Bacon was Jumior Champion, medal presented by Mike Broadbanks.

Team Honours.

Finished 4th in the Herts League 1951.

Speedway Riders.

Bob Andrews rode for California - Wolverhampton - Wimbledon - Hackney and Cradley Heath.

Ivan Mauger(six times World Champion) rode for Newcastle -  Exeter - Wimbledon - Belle Vue and Hull.


  • Bob Andrews
  • Roy Allwright
  • Bill Bacon
  • Mick Bodey
  • Peter Berdette
  • Paul Bowden
  • R. Brett
  • Derek Butcher
  • John Cawley
  • Vic Cowell
  • Maxie Crisp
  • Bill Davidson
  • Bert Davies
  • Frank Davies
  • Peter Day
  • Roy Delaney(capt 1947-57)
  • Terry "Chubby" Denton
  • Ted Gee
  • Stan Gleaves
  • Keith Godwin
  • Ron Goodey
  • Roy Goodey
  • Dennis Grayston
  • B. Hall
  • Micky Hall
  • Geoff Hardy
  • Den Harper
  • Bert Hawker
  • Bryan Hinchley
  • Bob Isaacs
  • J. Isaacs
  • Alan Jackson
  • Jim Jackson
  • Ted Jackson
  • A. Jennings
  • Brian Jennings
  • Jim Jordan
  • Dave Keay
  • Tommy Kilby
  • Brian Lewis
  • Den Lewis
  • Laurie "Licker" Lewis
  • Ivan Mauger
  • Tony Mobbs
  • Jimmy Naylor
  • Ronald Osborne
  • Ivor Parsley
  • John Petitt
  • Bill Poole
  • E "Rocky" Rain
  • Alan Rawlings
  • Malcolm "Legs" Reading
  • Don Ross
  • Johnnie Sayer
  • Charlie Scales
  • Dave Scapens
  • Roger Scapens
  • Keith Sherring
  • Ernie Skinner
  • Dave Stamford
  • Bill Stock
  • Broncho Taylor
  • Laurie Taylor
  • William Treacher
  • Rob Wallace
  • Dickie Watts
  • Les Westwood
  • Ernie Wilson
  • Bill Withers
  • .... Young