Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Suffolk: Kesgrave Kubs

About the team

The Kubs were the junior/second team to the Panthers.

The track was on the playing field behind the Church Hall.

Raced in the Deben Area League.

Raced in the Deben Handicap League 1963.

Club Manager: Freddie Brett. Team Manager: Alan Peck.

Team name was reformed in 1979, racing in Div 3 of the East Anglian League.

Individual Success:

1957 Dave Hunting(15) won the Suffolk Junior Individual Championship(Long John Silver Trophy). Runner up Brian Hathway(13),  3rd John West(12), both riders from Foxhall Pirates.

1957 Dave Hunting(15) won the Suffolk Senior Individual Championship(Bryden Trophy) at Melton. Runner-up Derek Lockwood(14) of Claydon Greyhounds, 3rd Tony Rookyard(11) of Kesgrave.

Club Success:

1957 Suffolk Junior Team Champions

1957 Suffolk Junior League Champions


  • Ray Bradbrook
  • Victor Bradbrook
  • Brian Brett
  • David Burnett
  • David Clegg
  • John Earrey
  • .... Etheridge
  • John Fisher
  • Polly Fisher
  • Robin Garwood
  • John Hare
  • Jack Hubbard
  • Dave Hunting
  • Billy Jennings
  • Tony Lee
  • Tony Louis
  • Peter Millar
  • John Payne
  • Ken Rackham
  • .... Ralph
  • Paul Rookyard
  • Tony Rookyard
  • Jack Smith
  • Micky Souter
  • David "Korky" Thorpe
  • Tony Waller
  • Tony Wallis