Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Suffolk: Kesgrave Panthers

About the team

Club started as the 'Foxhall Panthers' on a track that is still visible by the Ipswich Speedway Stadium, prior to it's existence. Moved to Kesgrave when the track at Foxhall Heath was opened at the beginning of the 1953 season.

The original track was on the W.M.C.C. Playing Field(behind the church hall), Main Road, Kesgrave.

Track Dimensions: 70 metres x 4.5 metres, firstly Cinder on chalk base, then red shale surface.

Club Colours 1950s/60s: Black and White shirts, black socks, Black "Panther" motif.

Raced in the Deben Area League 1950s/60s.

First track in Suffolk to have a permanent floodlighting system.

First sporting body to join the Kesgrave Community Centre.

Chairman/Club Manager: Freddie Brett(1950s/60s).

Assistant Manager(2nd Team): Alan Peck(1950s/60s).

Club Secretary: Alan Peck, 3 Sherbourne Avenue, Ipswich(1950s/60s).

Club Secretary: A.S Fisher, Waterworks Cottages, Kesgrave(1950s/60s).

Club Treasurer: Ray Earrey(1950s).

Club Announcers: Neville Whitmore, David Self & John Earrey(1950s).

Programme/Publicity: Richard Porter & Keith Beecroft(1950s).

Starter/Flags: John Earrey(1950s).

Club Mascot: Master J. Brett(1950s).

Raced in the Deben Area League(1950s).

Club Secretary: Colin Greaves(1976).

Club Chairman: R. Dack(1978).

Club Secretary/Manager: Les Parnell, 31 Nacton Crescent, Ipswich(1978).

Club Treasurer: Mrs M. Dack(1978).

Club Colours 1978: Yellow Shirts & Socks, Yellow Jacket with "Panther" motif in Black with Black edging.

Club moved to new track in 1990 due to new road development, and changed their name to Kesgrave Kestrels(due to their sponsor).

Changed back to Kesgrave Panthers in 2008, this being at the intervention of Dave Hunting.

Individual Success:

1957 Suffolk Junior Champion Dave Hunting(15 max), Runner up Brian Hathway(13)Foxhall Pirates, 3rd John West(12)Foxhall Pirates.

1957 Suffolk Senior Champion Dave Hunting(15 max), Runner up Derek Lockwood(14)Claydon, 3rd Tony Rookyard(11). Meeting took place at the Melton Meteor's track.

1957/58.  Dave Hunting was the undefeated Club Champion.

1958 Suffolk Senior Champion Dave Hunting(15 max). Meeting took place at the Woodbridge Wildcats track.

1959 Suffolk Senior Champion Tony Louis.

1960 Suffolk Senior Champion Tony Louis(13), runner up Tony Rookyard (13), 3rd Russell Fellingham(13)(Ipswich Pirates).

1964 Suffolk Senior Champion John Earrey(14), runner up Derek Lockwood(13), 3rd Ian Stallard(13), 4th Chris Gooch(12).

1964 John Earrey(14) won the Suffolk Grand Prix, runner-up Trevor Jones(13), 3rd Derek Lockwood(12.5), 4th Chris Gooch(12).

1980 Tim Snook(23) won the East Anglian Junior Individual at Kesgrave. Runner-up after a run-off was Tony Long(Trimley) and 3rd was Ian Pritty(Hethersett), both riders scoring 22 points.

Team Success:

1952 Won the Battle of Britain Trophy, runners-up Claydon Greyhounds.

1957 Suffolk Cycle Speedway League Winners.

1957 Battle of Britain Trophy Winners.

Speedway Riders.

Richard Porter rode as "Ricky Jerome" at Ipswich in the Junior Scratch Races.

Dave Hunting rode in junior practise events at Ipswich before becoming Stadium Manager at Ipswich and Yarmouth, as well as becoming the Promotional Manager for Spedeworth at Norwich, Wimbledon, New Cross, Eastbourne & Weymouth, as well as assisting at Aldershot and Reading.

In the Winter of 1988/89 he was instrumental in bringing the trio of Hackney Promoters to Ipswich, these being Dave Pavitt, Mike Western & John Louis. He acted as the intermediary between Les Eaton(Spedeworth) and Dave Pavitt/John Louis. 

In 1989 he sponsored the Ipswich Witches Speedway Team, known then as the Hunting Hire Witches. He also individually sponsored Tim Hunt, Louis Carr,  Tony Svab, Jonathan Cooper & Billy Sanders(also being Billy's spanner man in the pits).  

Joseph Jacobs rode for Mildenhall & Glasgow.


1950s - 1960s

  • Tony Adams(1950s)
  • .... Amsden(1960s)
  • M "Tich" Ashford
  • John "Max" Bacon(1950s)
  • Mick Barrett
  • Keith "Beeky" Beacroft(1950s)
  • Kenneth Bennison(1950s)
  • Ray Bradbrook(1950s)
  • Victor Bradbrook(1950s)
  • Brian Brett
  • John Brett(1950s)
  • C. Bridge
  • Cyril Burt(1950s)
  • Johnny Chamberlain(1956/57)
  • M. Clarke
  • M. Collins
  • Merv Cooper(1960s)
  • John Derrett(1950s)
  • John Earrey(1954+)
  • Ray Earrey(1950s)
  • John Fisher(1954+)
  • Polly Fisher(1950s)
  • D. Freeman
  • John "Golly" Gorham(1956/57)
  • .... Green(1960s)
  • John Hare(1950s)
  • Keith Hayman(1960s)
  • .... Hubbard(1950s)
  • Dave Hunting(1954-58)
  • Chris Jay(1960s)
  • Billy Jennings(1950s)
  • G. Jerman(1960s)
  • Ronnie Latter(1950s)
  • Humphrey Leach(1950s)
  • Tony Lee(1950s)
  • Tony Louis(1950s/60s)
  • David Mabb
  • Mick Mahon(1950s)
  • Peter Miller(1950s)
  • Franny Overall(1960s)
  • Les Parnell(1960s)
  • John Payne(1950s)
  • David Pettman(1960s)
  • Robbie Pettman(1960s)
  • Richard Porter(1950s)
  • Mike Pryke(1960s)
  • Ken Rackham(1950s)
  • P. Ransome
  • D. Read
  • Paul Rookyard(1950s)
  • Tony Rookyard(1950s)
  • David "Dippy" Self(1950s)
  • Paul Sewell
  • Roger Seymore
  • Jack Smith(1950s)
  • Mike Smith
  • Micky Souter(1950s)
  • Ian Stallard(1950s/60s)
  • Derek Stokes(1950s)
  • David Thorpe(1950s)
  • David Titshall(1950s)
  • Rob Wallis(1960s)
  • Tony Wallis(1960s)
  • Roger Ward
  • I. Warne
  • .... Warren(1950s)
  • R. Watkins
  • Roy Webb(1950s)
  • Neville Whitmore(1950s)

1970s +.

  • Greg Allen
  • Kevin Banyard
  • Kevin Barber
  • Simon Beckley
  • Malcolm Bennett
  • Danny Bloomfield
  • Dave Bloomfield
  • Colin Bridge
  • Trevor Brkovic
  • A. Broom
  • Nigel Burch
  • T. Campbell
  • C. Canham
  • D. Canham
  • Nigel Chilvers
  • Roger Chilvers
  • John Cole
  • Chris Collins
  • Colin Cooper
  • Merv Cooper
  • Colin Cox
  • Dean Cox
  • Albert Crane
  • Tony Crane
  • Dave Cranford
  • David Crawford
  • Kevin Crawford
  • Steve Crawford
  • Andy Dack
  • Chris Dack
  • Steve Davey
  • N. Delar
  • Nicky Deller
  • I. Dye
  • Dave Emeny
  • Trevor Emeny
  • Paul Emsden
  • Duncan Friend
  • Doug Goodchild
  • Mark Goodwin
  • Albert Grant
  • Colin Greaves
  • John Hall
  • Andy Harris
  • Tim Hunt
  • Adrian Ilott
  • Norman Jelley
  • Trevor Jones
  • Chris King
  • Dick King
  • Geoff Knights
  • Dave Lacey
  • Graham Long
  • Kevin Long
  • Paul Love(capt)
  • S. Morton
  • Gary Nolloth
  • Glen Norton
  • Franny Overall
  • Ian Palmer
  • Stevie Parker
  • Les Parnell
  • Dave Parsons
  • Ian Pepper
  • David Pettman
  • Robbie Pettman
  • Mike Pryke
  • Gary Richardson
  • Martin Roache
  • Pete Robinson
  • Barry Shapley
  • Keith Smith
  • Neil Smith
  • Nigel Smith
  • Tim Snook(1979-81)
  • R. Sowerbutts
  • Steve Spink
  • John Stacey
  • Gary Turley
  • Mick Turner
  • Tony Vince
  • Stu Vinyard
  • Tony Wallis
  • Ivan Warne
  • Bobby Watkins
  • Dean Webb(1986)
  • Nicky Wilding