Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Kent: Welling Wings

About the team

Formed in 1948 by Fred Pallet and his friends.

Raced in the Kent League from 1950-1954.

1st Track: South West corner of Danson Park, off Danson Lane, Welling, on site of former world war two anti-aircraft gun battery. Now occupied by Bexley Grammar School.

2nd Track: The Rear of the "Green Man" public house, Wickham Street, Welling. Now occupied by Poets Corner Housing Estate.

3rd Track: On open land between Avenue Road and Brampton Road, Bexleyheath, on South side of railway line. Site now occupied by the "William Camden" public house and a public car park to the rear.

1949. Track was 104 yards. Track Record was 53.0 seconds(four laps).

Club/Team Manager: Ronald Syndercombe(1949/50). He was a signwriter by trade, and designed all the breastplates.

Team Manager: Norman West(1951).

Raced in the South London League 1955 onwards.

Club Manager/Secretary: N.R. West, 10 Little Heath Road, Bexleyheath.

Club Secretary: Vic Duffy, 19 Exning Road, Canning Town, London E16(1960s).

Team Honours.

1949 won the Senior Kent County League.

1953 won the West Essex, Kent and Woolwich & Bexley League, runners up Beckton Panthers.

1953 won the League Knock-out Cup, beating Beckton Panthers.


  • Ralph Ambrose
  • Don Baldry
  • Ed Barrett
  • C. Beagle
  • Derek Brown
  • John Brown
  • Fred Channon
  • Vic Duffy
  • Jack Ellis
  • Billy Forsyth
  • Paul Gamble
  • .... Gregory
  • Fred Grove
  • Colin Haine
  • Roy Harvey
  • Brian Hogger
  • David Hoit
  • Derek Keeling
  • Brian Lucas
  • Terry Lucas
  • John Lumley
  • M. McDougal
  • Mick Mould
  • Fred Pallett
  • Ron Perfect
  • Tommy Sackman
  • N. Smith
  • Geoff Stark
  • Colin Thompson
  • Mike Tottle
  • Bob Warner
  • Ian Welch
  • Roy Welch
  • Barry West(capt)
  • John Whiting
  • Ron Wills