Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London North West: Wembley Monarchs

About the team

Team formed in 1949.

Later became the Wembley All Stars.

Track was at the 'Paddocks'.

Club Secretary: J. Taylor, 178 Church Lane, Kingsbury NW9.

Club Secretary: D. Harris, 3 Rosslyn Crescent, Wembley, Middlesex(1960s).

Team Manager: Roy Poyser.

Raced in the North West Middlesex League.

Raced in the Middlesex Independent League 1961.

Independent Honours.

1961 Lenny Waller won the Middlesex Independent League Riders Champs after a run-off with Mick Walker(Wembley Lions), both riders having scored 14 points. Hendons Mick Honour took 3rd place. Pete Sargeant shed a chain when unbeaten, with Terry Walker being excluded when also unbeaten.

1961 Lenny Waller won the Pride of Middlesex.

1961 Lenny Waller won the Wembley Junior Riders Champs.

Speedway Riders.

Doug Smith rode for Southampton.


  • Ken Bell
  • Max Cassuto
  • Jimm Cranis
  • Alec Fraser
  • Keith Fraser
  • Roy Fraser
  • Geoff Fuller
  • Bill Gadsby
  • Roy Howard
  • Keith Hunt
  • Dickie Kidd
  • Sid Luke
  • Eric Marshall
  • Laurie Pardoe
  • Billy Rankmore
  • Ken Reece
  • Peter Rhodes
  • Ron Shuttleworth
  • Doug Smith
  • Johnny Taylor
  • Chris "Trigger" Tregido
  • Len Walker
  • Lenny Waller