Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London East: West Ham Penguins

About the team

Track was the former home of the Stratford Hammers in Janson Road.

Raced in the Essex League 1954 +.

Mr Johnny Halloran Senior was Manager.

Individual Honours.

1953 Mike de Courcey won the Woolwich & Bexley League Individual Championship.

1954 Ernie Lamaque won the All England Individual Championship.

1954 Mike de Courcey(14) won the Woolwich & Bexley League Individual Championship, John Lumley(13) of Welling Wings was runner-up, with John Whiting(12) also from Welling Wings 3rd.


  • Brian Anthony
  • Colin Booth
  • Mike-de-Courcey
  • Dennis Day
  • Ronnie Gibbons
  • Joe Gilbert
  • Reg Goode
  • Johnny Halloran
  • Ernie Lamacq(capt)
  • John Livings
  • John Lock
  • Alf Padgett
  • Ron Richman
  • Ted Walker