Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Middlesex: Weston Stars

About the team

Track was at Wormwood Scrubs Common, Shepherds Bush, London W12.

London & Home Counties League 1956.

North West Middlesex League.

Raced in the National League 1961(1st season of this new league).

Raced in the Southern League in 1963.

Chief Organiser:  Mrs Jones.

Club Secretary: Del Pearce, 30 Orchard Road, Sutton, Surrey(1960s).

Individual Honours.

1958 Brian Betts won the London Senior Championship.

1959 Bert Hammond(14) won the Hammersmith Individual Champs, runner up George Harvey(13), 3rd Ted Wildman(12) after a three way run-off with Maurice Shaw & Reg Squires.

Team Honours.

1956 won the London & Home Counties League Title.

1957 won the Middlesex League(after a dispute with Hoddesden Kangaroos).

1960 won the Middlesex Knock Out Cup, beating National Team Champions Raynes Park Tigers by 16 points in the final.

Club Honours.

The 1957 British Senior Individual Final was held at Wormwood Scrubs. The Referee was Mr C. Walder(Oxfordshire). The winner was Derek Tegg(Longsight-Manchester) who scored 12.5 points, runner-up was Pete Blackwell(Kingstanding-West Midlands) after a run-off with Alan Harrison(Kingstanding) who came 3rd, and Norman Hunter(Wembley-London N.W) who came 4th, all three riders scoring 11 points. Other scorers: Barrie Dent(Belgrave-Leicester) 10, Brian Moston(Carrs Wood-Cheshire) 10, Bryan Wood(South London) 9, Geoff Pennikett(Raynes Park-Surrey) 9, Ray Coward(Tatnam-Dorset) 6, Dennis Gray(Heytesbury-Wilts) 6, Jim Morris(Walthamstow-East London) 5.5, Derek Francis(Southampton) 5, Jim McMinn(Drayton-Oxford) 5, Ken Worlock(Hungerford-Berks) 5, Barry Shapley(Drayton) 4, Andy Bright(Tatnam) 0.

In 1957 the first British Under 18 Individual Final was held at Wormwood Scrubs. The Referee was Mr Norman Collier(Cheshire). Only 12 riders contested the event. The winner was Andy Bright(Tatnam-Dorset), after a run-off with Stan Thompson(Southend-Essex), both riders having scored 13 points, 3rd was John Thomas(Drayton St Leonard Vampires-Oxfordshire) with 12 points. Other scorers: Terry Scales(Belle Vue Cobras-Manchester) 11, Pete Simpson(Coalville-Leicester) 11, Dave Willis(Langley-Bucks) 10, Frank Garlick(Eastward-Wilts) 8, Pat Parton(Aston Boys Club-Birmingham) 7, Graham Leale(Southampton) 7, Pete North(Hungerford) 6, Pete Saunders(Bricket Wood-Herts) 6, Phillip Moore(Wilmslow-Cheshire) 5.  

Interesting Item:

The track was adjacent to the Weston Biscuit Factory, and Garfield Weston was at times a spectator. He was known to distribute the well known "Wagon Wheel" to the riders after matches(True or False ?). If so, was this why the name was changed from "Western" to "Weston" ?

Another version of the name change was that the club ordered a new set of breastplates, and when they arrived they had been mis-spelt, so they decided to keep them and ride under the name 'Weston'.

Speedway Riders:

Ray "Tiddler" Humphreys(known as Tyburn Gallows) rode for Rye House - New Cross - Canterbury and Brayfield.

Bill Pittingale rode for California.


  • Pete Andrews
  • Roy Archie
  • Johnny Atkinson
  • Brian Betts
  • .... Boultwood
  • Bernie Cable
  • .... Carter
  • T. Cathcart
  • Tony Claydon
  • .... Cornwall
  • Tommy Davis
  • Johnny Dryden
  • Bert Hammond
  • George Harvey
  • Ray "Tiddler" Humphreys
  • Dave Jenkins
  • Sid Luke
  • Pete Mason
  • Derek "Del" Pearce
  • Bill Pittingale
  • Jim Riley
  • Roy Ruffell
  • Morris Shaw
  • L. Walker
  • Gerry Wallis
  • Roy Wallis
  • Alfie Webb
  • Brian Webb(1959-60)
  • Ted Wildman
  • Tommy Wildman