Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

London North West: Willesden Comets

About the team

Team Formed in 1948.

Shared a track with Stonebridge Rockets on Gibbons Road Recreation Park.

In 1949 both teams moved to a new track at the junction of Harrow Road North, and the North Circular Road.

By April of that year moved to another new track in Mitchell Way(NW10), sharing with the Mitchell Stars.

Promoted in May 1949 from the Winter Section B to the Senior Division of the Wembley & District League.

Club Manager: F. Hollis, 119 Conduit Way, North Circular Road, Willesden NW10.

Speedway Riders.

Ray "Tiddler" Humphreys changed his name by deed poll, and later rode as "Tyburn Gallows" for Rye House - New Cross - Canterbury and Brayfield.


  • Roy Clarke
  • Dennis "Dizzie" Downs
  • Ernie Hollis
  • Frankie Hopcroft
  • Ray "Tiddler"  Humphreys
  • Roy Humphreys
  • Len Lambert
  • Jimmy Riley
  • Paul Robinson
  • Frank Totman
  • Pat Transfield
  • Eric Willis
  • Charlie Wise
  • Sid Woodall
  • Dennis Woods