Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Kent: Beckenham Pirates

Formed in 1952, raced on the old Essoldo Cinema Car Park(previosly the Penge Empire Theatre).

Managers & Founders were Mr & Mrs Spaulding.

Raced under the Pirates name from 1952 - 1955.

Moved to a purpose built track in Churchfields Road in 1954.

Ron Johnson took over as Chairman/Club Manager in 1955.

John Richardson became the Secretary  the same time.

These two persons were the mainstays of the club for nearly 30 years, as well as being prime movers in the formation of the Southern Premier League, the BCSF and the British League. 

Raced in the Southern Premier League.

Became the Beckenham Monarchs in 1957.

Club Treasurers: Ann Jarman & Ray Leggo.

Team Manager: Stan Graves.

Speedway Riders.

Pete Jarman rode for Stoke - Oxford - Eastbourne - Wolverhampton and Cradley Heath.


  • Brian Baker
  • Terry Burgoine
  • Ken Cooper
  • Danny Daniel
  • Ron Freeman
  • Dicky Hudders
  • Pete Jarman
  • D. Jennings
  • R. Matthews
  • Johnny Mitchell
  • I. Smith
  • Jeff Smith
  • Tommy Spaulding
  • Dickie Udders
  • Bobby Wall