Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Essex: Basildon Comets

About the team

Originally called the Orkans, changed name 1980.

Track was at Laindon Link, Basildon.

New track was at Gloucester Park, Cranes Farm Road, Basildon(1980).

General Manager: Ken Strutt.

Club Secretary: A. Vaughan

Club Treasurer: J. Stevens

Press Officer: George Welch

"A" Team Manager: John Fromant

"B" Team Manager: Jim Ferries.

Raced in the Southern Counties League 1980.

Individual Honours.

1981 Chris Strutt(18) won National Individual Final at Three Mills Centre, Bow, runner up Kevin Sutton(17) Somersham, 3rd Geoff Patman(16) Bristol, 4th Rob Wallsgrove(16) Coventry.

1982 Chris Strutt won the Laurels at Poole, after a run-off with Kevin Sutton(Somersham), both riders having scored 18 points. Third was Phil Pilbrow(Norwich) with 16 points.



  • Richard Bacon
  • A. Bull
  • Denny Bunce
  • A. Burnett
  • Steve Coote
  • John Cordery
  • Paul Cordery
  • Mick Evans
  • Andy Goodrick
  • Steve Grosch
  • Nigel Hoggart
  • Dave Ireland
  • Alan Joiner
  • Dave Jones
  • Gary Oliver
  • Tony Ridgewell
  • Roger Rutherford
  • John Spooner
  • Tony Stephens
  • Chris Strutt
  • Paul Vaughan
  • Graham Whitfield
  • Craig Wright


  • Lee Benton
  • Steve Coote
  • John Cordery
  • Mark Ferris
  • Danny Morrell
  • Mick Morrell
  • Dave Payne
  • Tony Ridgewell
  • David Rozee
  • B. Sewell
  • Brian Tams
  • D. Taylor
  • J. Taylor
  • Paul Vaughan
  • M. Vickers
  • Graham Whitfield