Home Historical results Links Info/downloads Unidentified teams & riders: can you help? Site news

Cycle Speedway Teams Down the Ages

Hampshire: Aldershot Shots

About the team

Track was built in the corner of the car park at the Aldershot Speedway/Dog racing stadium at Tongham.

Ted Dewe was top club scorer each season, winning many individual trophies. He eventually joined the ranks of motorcycle speedway, riding at Southampton & Wimbledon.

Team Manager: Mr James.

Team Colours were Red & Blue, with a White Cannon motif.

Rode in the South West Surrey League division 2 in 1951, winning this at their first attempt.


  • Terry "Ernie" Allen
  • Colin Barnes
  • Pete Cathie
  • Terry Clifford
  • Ted Dewe
  • Ted Drurey
  • Johnnie Hammerton
  • Johnny Hammond
  • Mick Jones
  • Clive Latham
  • Graham Packham
  • Don Rogers
  • Eric Rogers
  • David Stapleton
  • Dave Tink